The community language school must provide information about the curriculum for each year level. The curriculum should include activities addressing all four macro skills, i.e. speaking, listening, reading and writing, as well as activities that reflect the intercultural dimension of a robust languages program.

The curriculum must be based on the Victorian Curriculum F-10 – Languages, and be taught to each student for a minimum of 2.5 hours per week for approximately 40 weeks per year.

For more details on the Victorian Curriculum, including curriculum information on specific languages, see the Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority website.

For accreditation, a community language school must provide either:

(a) a single, well-developed unit of work for one level/combination of levels. Schools are still required to have and deliver a full curriculum for all year levels. Professional learning sessions organised by Community Languages Victoria are available to community language schools to help develop Victorian Curriculum-aligned units of work.

A blank template for a unit of work is available here (DOC).
A sample unit of work for German – Foundation level is available here (PDF).


(b) a broad scope and sequence overview of the year’s curriculum for each level/combination of levels for the entire year. VCAA scope and sequence documents are available below. Important: Schools that choose this option and are granted (re-)accreditation in this round must attend a series of professional learning workshops organised by Community Languages Victoria on curriculum planning and writing between 2019 and 2021. Failure to participate in these professional learning workshops, as required, may lead to loss of accreditation.

VCAA Scope and Sequence Documents

Scope and sequence documents for the following languages are available from the Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority. The links below are to PDF versions of the documents on the VCAA site – clicking on the links will download the files directly from the VCAA server.

If your language is not listed, you may use the generic scope and sequence documents for Roman Alphabet and Non-Roman Alphabet languages; links to these files on the VCAA site are listed further below.

Please select the relevant scope and sequence document for your school, e.g. if your school only teaches between Prep (Foundation) and Level 6, download only that document (Foundation-Level 6), rename it according to the naming conventions in the guidelines (i.e.”13_courseoutline.pdf”), and forward it with your application.

If your school teaches Year 7 (and above), download the appropriate Levels 7-10 document, rename it according to the naming conventions in the guidelines (i.e.”13_courseoutline.pdf”), and forward it with your application.

If you have more than one scope and sequence document to provide, please combine them as a single PDF.








Modern Greek




Languages for which there is no specific curriculum currently available may adopt the scope and sequence documents provided for either of the following, as appropriate:

Non-Roman Alphabet Languages (eg. Burmese, Russian, Serbian)

Roman Alphabet Languages (eg. Croatian, Somali, Swedish)

Instructions for submission

Please supply a copy of the Victorian Curriculum-aligned course outline for your school according to either option (a) or (b) above. This document must be submitted as a single PDF named “14_curriculum.pdf”.